We leave tonight for Lesbos…

WE leave tonight for Lesbos to organise the logistics of distribution and meet Cargo One.

In total four volunteers are coming to help including Nathan Lee who works for Made in Tyne and Wear and will be producing daily videos of the experience.

I invited Nathan, who graduated this year from the Multimedia Journalism programme at Teesside University which I teach on, because I wanted to record the experience and show people how their money is spent. The videos will be posted each day.

Nathan funded his own trip, but the flights and accommodation for myself and the other two volunteers – my stepmother Liz and my sister Holly – have been covered from fundraising.

The cost of flights with Aegean Airlines – plus 100kg additional luggage to take some Childhood Bags and children’s books – was £763.53.

I also paid £115 for parking at Heathrow.As I have100kg of boxes full of Childhood Bags I paid £45 to have a service where I could just get out at the terminal rather than a 20 minute journey.

As I live in the North East and I’m driving to Heathrow I’ve also allocated £120 for petrol two and from the airport.

Accommodation is costing a total of £400 for four people for four nights.

This is the part of the campaign I was most nervous about spending money on. I didn’t want people to think I was having a holiday at their expense. But I’ve kept costs to the absolute minimum, and without the help at the other side to distribute bags, this campaign would never work.

Most importantly, in terms of time, everyone (including myself) has done this entire voluntarily. Personally I’ve spent around 100 hours on the campaign in total since it started.

I hope people think that all in all this is good value for money.

Total spent: £1398.53

sppedshift

Leave a comment